Consequence of breaking your fast early

” I heard the Messenger of Allaah (SWT) say: “Whilst I was sleeping two men came to me and took my by the arm and brought me to a cragged mountain. They said, ‘Climb up.’ I said, ‘I cannot.’ They said, ‘We will make it easy for you.’ So I climbed up until I was at the top of the mountain. Then I heard loud voices. I said, ‘What are these voices?’ They said, ‘This is the howling of the people of Hell.” Then I was taken until I saw people hanging by their hamstrings, with the sides of their mouths torn and blood pouring from their mouths.’ I said, ‘Who are these?’ He said, ‘These are people who broke their fast before it was time.’”
[ Classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh Mawaarid al-Zam’aan, no. 1509]

 

MAY ALLAH (SWT) PROTECT US FROM COMMITTING THIS SIN. AMEEN

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dearestallah
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 16:11:22

    is there any dua for this ?

    Reply

    • simplyislam786
      Aug 10, 2012 @ 22:01:10

      If you break your fast early then you have to pay a “penalty”.

      Abu Hurairah narrated, A man came to Rasulullah (Pbuh) and said, “I am undone!” He asked him, “What has happened to you?” He said, “I did intercourse with my wife in Ramadan (while I was fasting).” He said, “Can you set a slave free?” He said, “No.” He again asked, “Can you fast for two consecutive months?” He said, “No.” He asked, “Can you provide food for sixty poor people?” He said, “No.” He said, “sit down.” Then a huge basket containing dates was brought to Rasulullah (Pbuh). He said to him, give it as sadaqah (alms).” He said, “O Rasulullah! There is no poorer family than mine between the two lava plains of (Madina). Rasulullah (Pbuh) laughed so that his canine teeth became visible, and said, “give it to your family to eat.”

      So in Summary, you need to either free a slave, fast for 60 consecutive non-ramadan days or feed 60 poor people

      Hope this helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

